when you are working on any creative project, it is more important to know why you do what you do, than what you want to do.

What three things does Simon Sinek identify as the “golden circle”?

Sinek identifies why, how and what as the golden circle. A lot of people know what they are doing but not a lot actually know why they do it.

What is the hierarchy, ie what is the most important and what is the least important?

The hierarchy is the system where people in a organisation are ranked by authority. The highest member, the leader is in charge of representing the why of the company.  Next is the senior executives who help with the how and the what of the leader’s vision.

Simon Sinek identifies some questions that you can ask yourself about what you do:

what do you do?

I film videos short video mostly aimed at teen audiences.

how do you do it?

I do it by putting a lot of planning into my initial work to make sure my final work has the best outcome possible for me.

why do you do it?

I do it because I enjoy it. I find making films really helps my imagination flow and I love seeing the final outcome of my work. I also do it as I like to spread messages across in my work for other people to realise and also spread the message.

 

What do you notice about each of these mission statements

Twitter:

Our mission: To give everyone the power to create and share ideas and information instantly, without barriers.

Nike:

“To bring inspiration and innovation to every athlete* in the world.”

 

I feel that the twitter statement focuses more on what they do, like give people the power to create. I feel the Nike one is also a what statement as it’s explain more what it does than why it does it.

 

My Mission Statement.

I make short films mostly aimed at teen audiences. I do it because I enjoy it. I find making films really helps my imagination flow and I love seeing the final outcome of my work. I also do it as I like to spread messages across in my work for other people to realise and also spread the message.

