This week I’m going to be focusing on primary research. This will include conducting experiments I need to do for my fmp, mostly looking at colour correction on AVID.

Image result for experiments
(Andrea Mulder-Slate, 17th November 2015)

 

My project is a short film based in 1979 about teenagers leaving each other to go start their adult lives. I’m very interested in 70’s culture which is why I chose to base it in this time. I also like the challenge of making sure my whole set looks/is authentic to its time. For my subject, I especially need to look at what sort of clothes teenagers in Britain wore in 1979. I feel this is one the biggest things I need to research as well as props. I also need to experiment with colour correction on Avid to give it 70’s feel to it. The way I’m going to go about this is by experimenting using different guides to “create a 70’s look” and putting each onto my social media to ask for opinions on which looks the best and most authentic.

I have already experimented before hand in Avid with colour correction when I was researching for Mark and Jeff. I still need to look into creating a 70’s style as for Mark and Jeff I was just focusing on creating a brighter more saturated look to the film.

Image result for 70's film
(TheWillemDafoe Dafoe, 22nd November 2012)

My first job was looking at my script and seeing what it required. Also filling out my pre production paperwork.

Capture

For my location recee, I only had to look at one location. The shed/garden. My only major flaw with this location was the reflection from the windows. I could easily sort this by covering it with material though so it wasn’t a major issue. I also wrote about the issue of that my house is near a road so I might get noises of traffic. Luckily, where I live is pretty quiet so this won’t be a major issue and I can just make sure my mic isn’t picking up too much background noise.

I also have no power outlets in the shed so will be using extension cords from inside the house to solve this. This brings up the potential danger of wires on the floor so I wrote about this in mfd.PNGy risk assessment sheet. Another potential problem was props in the shed falling down. I could easily resolve this as well by making sure all props that could fall were secured or taken out of the shed, prior to filming.

Next up was writing up my call sheet. On this, I had to list all my actors, and their details. This is incase they do not turn up at the call time, I can easily contact them to find out what’s happening and where they are. I also wrote the details for my crew members if the same issue occurs.

rt.PNGI also wrote a schedule so everyone would know what time we were shooting. As I’m only shooting one long scene, I need to make sure that the lighting is roughly the same so I’m starting at 1pm and hoping to get it filmed and finished by 6pm at the very latest (lunch is included in this time) to maximise my time filming with the sun. Luckily, this time in the year, the sun doesn’t set till about 9pm but I still want it to be the brightest it possibly can be.

For my storyboard, as I had a lot of shots, I had no time to sit down and draw each one out. Instead, I grabbed several of my college classmates and set them up roughly where I wanted each character and took a photo for each shot. This was much easier.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also realised while doing this, I didn’t need as many shots as I thought, so I wrote above them in red what shot number this is. That meant some shots were combined. I also wrote the number above so it was also my shot list as otherwise my shot list was just the same minus the pictures as I have wrote what dialogue is being said at the bottom anyway. I wrote out the shot list anyway so I could have a written guide and can cross it off as I film each shot.

 

This week I’m going to look round the charity shops for the clothes and props for my piece. I have already made a basic list of things I want to find but had to keep it vague as I don’t know what I’m going to find in the charity shops. I’m also going to edit some footage this week so I can test out colour correction for my film.

My first experiment for the week is simply to record and edit some footage. I’m going to use some footage I recorded during Mark and Jeff as it was filmed in my back garden where I want to film my FMP.

My first test I found worked well. I didn’t have a set guide or plan for any of my experiments and just wanted to look at genuine 70’s footage and work from that.

For this one I decided on a very yellow toned piece. I messed around with colour correction mostly for this. I also added 4:3 sidebar to give it a more square look to it. There’s also a really faint overlay video of some film scratches and noise. I don’t think this is apparent in this.

In my second test, I decided to mute the colours a bit more and give it a slightly faded look.

I also made it slightly less saturated and added more film scratches which also faded it quite a bit. I don’t like this one as much as the first cost as I feel it really looses the colour of the piece. I also feel it just doesn’t look like old footage and more like I had just stuck a “old film” filter over the top.

After asking several people which one they preferred, they agreed that the first one looked better as the second one looked too faded. I also like the slight green tint to the first one. I think I want to stick with the first one for my colour correction on my final film as I also think it just looks nicer overall. When I come to edit, I might add some more scratches in it to make the footage look old. I would also think on the first one, the picture isn’t as clear as I would want it so I might sharpen it a little to make it more defined.

That was all my experimenting for editing. Next up was looking and buying costumes.

Capture

I wanted to keep my budget as low as possible so I resorted to looking round charity shops and my own house for costumes. I wrote about most of the costumes for secondary research as I needed to research what sort of costumes people in the 70’s wore. My primary research for the costumes was in fact just going out and buying them.

Capture.PNG

For the costumes I have at the moment, I have separated them by character and put their names between so on the day, the actors could easily find their costumes. I also put all the accessories for each character together so they wouldn’t get lost. I think this organisation works really well and I can also see the colour scheme for each character more clearly. With all the shoes, they are all coming from the actors so I won’t see them with the outfits until the day. At the moment, I am very fond of the colours of the clothing as I feel they are very bright and will help give a summery vibe to the film.

And I18641911_433786010329491_543752336_o also in my secondary research, wrote about the location, the shed. I put this in secondary research as it was mostly looking at props like the radio. I didn’t need to research a lot of the things I’m putting in the shed as a) the props aren’t in there yet incase it rains and they get damaged and b) I was just going to find anything small in my house that resembles the 70’s and go from there. I’ll have the whole shed complete the day before filming to minimise risks of my props getting damaged by any potential rain and will update then.

18641766_433785986996160_551615373_o

Overall, with my primary research, I think I did well experimenting with my colour correction on AVID. It was fun to play around and see what effects I could achieve. I’m happy with my first test as I feel the second was too faded and didn’t look very nice. The nice thing about AVID is that I can save my colour correction so I don’t have to mess around next time trying to achieve the same look as I already will have it. In some of the shots, I might have to tweak the colour correction slightly to make all the lighting the same but this is easy to do so won’t be a major problem.

REFERENCES

Andrea Mulder-Slate, (17th November 2015), 14 fun science experiments for kids, Available at: https://www.todaysparent.com/family/activities/fun-science-experiments-for-kids/, (Accessed: 5th May 2017)

TheWillemDafoe Dafoe, (22nd November 2012), 70’s Film Look Correction, Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBNOD2wYNJQ, (Accessed: 5th May 2017)

