This week I really enjoyed even though we had to do only two blogs. I felt these blogs were especially important so I put a lot more effort into than I feel I normally do. For the avid blog, I felt I gave a detailed but simple guide on how to use it. I myself really enjoyed starting to use avid and found the keyboard shortcuts especially useful as they saved me a lot of time. Overall I wasn’t too happy with my final outcome for that though but I felt it was ok for a first attempt. Having the freedom to edit the video let me explore avid on my own, looking at all the different ways you could edit. I can’t wait to start editing more on the programme as I feel overtime I will improve using it and enjoy it a bit more.

For my research blog, I chose a show that I was heavily familiar with so I would know a lot about the background of it and not waste time watching it again. I felt I put a lot of detail into my blog, looking for background props that were added to the scene to give it depth. Also the show I chose, Freaks and Geeks, being set in 1980-1981, meant I had to look specially for props and clothing around that time era. Overall, the research blog is probably my favourite blog I’ve done so far as although it took a long time to do, I really enjoyed searching up everything and learning more about the show and how much went into it.

 

PEER FEEDBACK:

“I think you did a really good job with your blog posts, they are nicely illustrated. Your post on Avid is nicely detailed, it gives a clear information on how to use avid. At the end, maybe you should also talk about how to export the project once it is finished, so that people don’t export it the wrong way. Your production research from my point of view is really good. You must have used your time wisely when choosing the right websites and clearly explained why you chose your websites. You have also clearly referenced all the pictures and websites you used for this post. So as a final verdict, you did really good posts, all you need to do next time is adding more detail about exporting the project on avid and then you are done”- (Marwan Boudanga, 11th November 2016)